

Board of Governors

(as of 31 December 2023)

Member	Governor	Alternate Governor
Afghanistan	Mohammad Khalid Payenda ^a	Nazir Kabiri ^a
Armenia	Tigran Khachatryan	Vahe Hovhannisyan
Australia	Jim Chalmers MP	Stephen Jones MP
Austria	Magnus Brunner	Elisabeth Gruber
Azerbaijan	Samir Sharifov	Mikayil Jabbarov
Bangladesh	A. H. M. Mustafa Kamal	Shahriar Kader Siddiky ^b
Belgium	Vincent Van Peteghem	Meryame Kitir
Bhutan	Namgay Tshering	Leki Wangmo
Brunei Darussalam	Dato Amin Liew Abdullah	Pengiran Datin Zety Sufina Dato Sani
Cambodia	Aun Pornmoniroth	Ros Seilava ^c
Canada	Ahmed Hussen ^d	Vacant ^e
China, People's Republic of	Liu Kun	Zou Jiayi
Cook Islands	Mark Brown	Garth Henderson
Denmark	Ole Thonke ^f	Marie-Louise Koch Wegter ^g
Federated States of Micronesia	Rose N. Nakanaga ^h	Lorin Robert
Fiji	Biman Prasad	Shiri Krishna Gounder
Finland	Pasi Hellman	Titta Maja
France	Bruno Le Maire	Emmanuel Moulin
Georgia	Lasha Khutsishvili	Levan Davitashvili
Germany	Niels Annen	Ruediger Wilhelm von Kleist
Hong Kong, China	Paul Chan Mo-po	Christopher Hui
India	Nirmala Sitharaman	Ajay Seth
Indonesia	Sri Mulyani Indrawati	Suharso Monoarfa
Ireland	Michael McGrath TD	John Hogan
Italy	Fabio Panetta ⁱ	Francesca Utili

Information as of July 2021. ADB placed on hold its assistance in Afghanistan effective 15 August 2021, but since 2022 has supported the Afghan people through a special arrangement with the United Nations to address basic human needs, including critical food support, and health and education services.

- Succeeded Sharifa Khan in December.
- Succeeded Vongsey Vissoth in October. Succeeded Harjit Sajjan in July.
- Position has been vacant since February 2021 and was last held by Rick Stewart.
- Succeeded Stephan Schonemann in September.
- Succeeded Sigurd Halling in September.
- Succeeded Eugene Amor in October.
- Succeeded Ignazio Visco in November.

Member	Governor	Alternate Governor
Japan	Shunichi Suzuki	Kazuo Ueda ^j
Kazakhstan	Alibek Kuantyrov	Dauren Kenbeil
Kiribati	Teuea Toatu	Koin Uriam Kiritione
Korea, Republic of	Sang Mok Choi ^k	Chang Yong Rhee
Kyrgyz Republic	Almaz Baketaev	Daniyar Amangeldiev
Lao People's Democratic Republic	Santiphab Phomvihane ¹	Vathana Dalaloy
Luxembourg	Gilles Roth ^m	Arsène Jacoby
Malaysia	Anwar Ibrahim ⁿ	Datuk Johan Mahmood Merican ^o
Maldives	Ibrahim Ameer	Mariyam Manarath Muneer
Marshall Islands	Casten Nemra ^p	Patrick Langrine
Mongolia	Javkhlan Bold	Lkhagvasuren Byadran
Myanmar	Soe Win ^q	Tun Tun Naing ^q
Nauru	David W. R. Adeang MP ^r	John Petersen
Nepal	Prakash Sharan Mahat ^s	Krishna Hari Pushkar ^t
Netherlands	Liesje Schreinemacher	K. (Kitty) van der Heijden
New Zealand	Nicola Willis ^u	Caralee McLiesh
Niue	Dalton Emani Makamau Tagelagi	Peleni Talagi ^v
Norway	Bjørg Sandkjær	Bjørn Brede Hansen
Pakistan	Shamshad Akhtar	Kazim Niaz
Palau	Kaleb Udui, Jr.	Casmir Remengesau
Papua New Guinea	Ian Ling-Stuckey MP	Andrew Oaeke
Philippines	Benjamin E. Diokno	Eli M. Remolona, Jr. w
Portugal	Fernando Medina	Bernardo Ivo Cruz
Samoa	Lautimuia Uelese Vaai ^x	Saoleitiiti Maeva Betham-Vaai ^y
Singapore	Lawrence Wong	Tan Ching Yee
Solomon Islands	Harry Degruit Kuma	Mckinnie Dentana
Spain	Nadia Calviño	Gonzalo Garcia Andres
Sri Lanka	Ranil Wickremesinghe	K. M. Mahinda Siriwardana
Sweden	Diana Janse	Sigrún Rawet

Succeeded Haruhiko Kuroda in April.

Succeeded Kyungho Choo in December.

Succeeded Bounchom Ubonpaseuth in April.

Succeeded Yuriko Backes in November.

Succeeded Tengku Datuk Seri Utama Zafrul Bin Tengku Abdul Aziz in December.

Succeeded Dato' Asri Hamidon in February.

Succeeded Brenson S. Wase in July.

Information as of January 2021. ADB placed on hold its assistance in Myanmar effective 1 February 2021.

Succeeded Martin Hunt MP in November.

Succeeded Bishnu Prasad Paudel in March.

Succeeded Madhu Kumar Marasini in August.

Succeeded Grant Robertson in November.

Succeeded Wayne McCaughan in May.

Succeeded Felipe M. Medalla in July.

Succeeded Mulipola Anarosa Ale Molioo in October.

Assumed position in May. Position was last held by Oscar Thomas Malielegaoi until October 2021.

Board of Governors continued

Member	Governor	Alternate Governor
Switzerland	Dominique Paravicini	Arno Wicki
Taipei,China	Tsui-Yun Chuang ^z	Mei-Lie Chu ^{aa}
Tajikistan	Davlatali S. Said	Sadi Qodirzoda
Thailand	Srettha Thavisin ^{bb}	Lavaron Sangsnit ^{cc}
Timor-Leste	Santina José Rodrigues Ferreira Viegas Cardoso ^{dd}	Vacant ^{ee}
Tonga	Tiofilusi Tiueti	Kilisitina Tiane Moala-Tuaimei'api ^{ff}
Türkiye	Osman Çelik ⁹⁹	Kerem Dönmez
Turkmenistan	Toyly Malikov	Vacant ^{hh}
Tuvalu	Seve Paeniu	Taufia Patolo
United Kingdom	Andrew Mitchel MP ⁱⁱ	Anne-Marie Trevelyan MP ^{jj}
United States	Janet Yellen	Jose Fernandez ^{kk}
Uzbekistan	Jamshid Khodjayev	Vacant ^{II}
Vanuatu	John Dahmasing Salong MP	Tony Amos Sewen ^{mm}
Viet Nam	Nguyen Thi Hong	Nguyen Kim Anh

MP = Member of Parliament, TD = Teachta Dála (a member of the lower house of the Irish Parliament).

^z Succeeded Jain-Rong Su in March.

^{aa} Succeeded Nan-Kuang Chen in March.

bb Succeeded Arkhom Termpittayapaisith in September.

^{cc} Succeeded Krisada Chinavinchara in October.

dd Succeeded Rui Augusto Gomes in August.

ee Position has been vacant since September 2023 and was last held by Antonio Freitas.

Assumed position in August. Position was last held by Pilimilose Balwyn Fa'otusia until August 2021.

⁹⁹ Succeeded Murat Zaman in July.

hh Position has been vacant since July 2021 and was last held by Serdar Gubandurdyyev.

Succeeded James Cleverly MP in February.

Succeeded Lord Goldsmith of Richmond Park in February.

Assumed position in May. Position was last held by Keith Krach until January 2021.

Position has been vacant since September 2023 and was last held by Sarvar Khamidov.

mm Succeeded Letlet August in November.